Curriculum K – 12


All schools in the Diocese of Lismore follow NSW syllabuses for the Australian Curriculum which are NESA approved. As a Catholic system of schools, Lismore Diocesan schools also offer Religious Education. Please visit the NESA Parent Guide for information on the NSW syllabuses.

The curriculum in our schools is organised into Key Learning Areas (KLAs). These are:

  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • English
  • HSIE
  • Languages (optional in primary school)
  • Personal Development Health and Physical Education
  • Creative Arts
  • Religious Education
  • VET (secondary school only)

Teachers in the Diocese of Lismore are supported to maintain a contemporary understanding of developments in curriculum and pedagogy to be able to respond to diverse student needs and curriculum changes.

Learners in Lismore Diocesan schools have opportunities to engage with the NSW Curriculum through the subject areas, but also in integrated ways in areas such as STEM. Schools in the Lismore Diocese also offer a range of broader curriculum-linked opportunities in the Arts, Sport, Science and Technology and Writing.